Riverside County Honors Exceptional Educators of the Year

Riverside County’s Office of Education has concluded its surprise announcements for the Educator of the Year, unveiling the distinguished honorees for 2024. Superintendent Edwin Gomez personally visited each recipient throughout February to deliver the exciting news of their recognition.

The esteemed panel of 2024 honorees includes Principal of the Year Emily Price from Megan Cope Elementary School in the San Jacinto Unified School District; Confidential Employee of the Year Cindy Vasquez, executive assistant at Jurupa USD; Certificated Administrator of the Year Ryan Mulvanny, director II of professional development and learning at Lake Elsinore USD; Site Support Employee of the Year Sharon Nakama, coordinator of special education at Moreno Valley USD; Classified Administrator of the Year Michael Sattley, director of facilities services at Hemet USD; Classified Employee of the Year Michelle Forcina, secretary III at Canyon Springs High School, Moreno Valley USD; and School Counselor of the Year Gabriella S. Zlaket from Arlington High School, Riverside USD.

The final surprise announcement was made for Dr. Sharon Nakama, who serves as the coordinator of special education at Moreno Valley USD. Superintendent Gomez praised Nakama’s dedication to fostering inclusivity and equity in education, highlighting her efforts to strengthen partnerships and support systems for students with disabilities. Nakama’s colleagues commended her strategic vision and hands-on guidance, recognizing her as a bridge builder within the community.

Principal Emily Price of Megan Cope Elementary School was also celebrated for her outstanding leadership and dedication to student success. Superintendent Gomez commended Price for prioritizing student well-being and creating a school culture focused on achieving goals. Price’s colleagues described her as a natural talent for inspiring her team and fostering collaboration among teachers, parents, and students.

Read More News:

Both Nakama and Price expressed gratitude for the recognition, emphasizing the collective effort of their colleagues and the supportive school communities. As Riverside County celebrates these exemplary educators, their achievements serve as inspiration for the entire education community.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *